Information for Current Students

Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar contains key dates, including the start and end dates of classes, holidays, reading days, and exam days.

The University at Buffalo academic calendar is set by the Faculty Senate and University President. Dates may change at their discretion.

Printable Academic Calendars (PDF):

Bridge 2017

Tueday, January 3

Tuesday, January 10

Monday, January 16

Monday, January 30

Tuesday, January 31

Wednesday, Feb. 1  -  Friday, Feb. 3

 

Block 4 courses begin - Upper division students

LAWR II begins - First year students

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No classes

Last day of bridge classes

Reading day

Bridge exams; LAWR II continues for first-year students

Spring 2017

Monday, February 6

Friday, March 3

Monday, March 6

Monday, Mar. 20 - Friday Mar. 24

Friday, April 7

Monday, April 10

Friday, May 5

Satursday, May 6 - Monday, May 8

Tuesday, May 9 - Friday, May 19

Sunday, May 21

Spring classes begin (Block 5); Spring LAWR II schedule begins

Block 5 ends

Block 6 begins

Spring recess - No classes

Block 6 ends;  LAWR II ends for first year students

Block 7 begins

Last day of classes - Block 7 ends

Reading days

Final exams

Commencement

Summer 2017

Monday, May 22

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 4-Wednesday, July 5

Thursday, July 6-Friday, July 7

Classes begin

Last Day of Class

Reading Days

Final Exams

Fall 2017

Friday, August 18

Thursday, August 31

Monday, September 4

Thursday, Sep 28--Friday, Sep 29

Monday, October 2

Tuesday, October 3

Monday, October 30

Tuesday, October 31

Wednesday, Nov 22 - Friday Nov 24

Friday, December 1

Saturday, Dec 2 – Monday, Dec 4

Tuesday, Dec 5 - Friday, Dec 15

December 16

First Year Orientation Begins- Mandatory

Classes begin- Block 1

No Classes -  Labor Day

Fall Break-  No Classes

Block 1 Ends

Bock 2 Begins

Block 2 ends

Block 3 begins

Thanksgiving Break- No Classes

Block 3 Ends - Last Day of Classes

Reading Days

Final Exams

Winter Recess Begins

Bridge 2018

Wednesday, January 3

Tuesday, January 9

Monday, January 15

Tuesday, January 30

Wednesday, January 31

Thursday, Feb 1 - Friday, Feb 2

Block 4 Courses Begin - Upper Division Students

LAWR II Begins- First year students

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day- No Classes

Last Day of Bridge Classes

Reading Day

Bridge Exams; LAWR II continues for first-year students

Spring 2018

Monday, February 5

Friday, March 2

Monday, March 5

Monday, March 19 - Friday, March 23

Friday, April 6

Monday, April 9

Friday, May 4

Saturday, May 5 - Monday, May 7

Tuesday, May 8 - Friday, May 18

Thursday, May 17 - Monday, May 21

Spring Classes begin (Block 5); Spring LAWR II schedule begins

Block 5 ends

Block 6 begins

Spring Recess - No classes

Block 6 ends; LAWR II ends for first year students

Block 7 begins

Last day of classes - Block 7 ends

Reading Days

Final Exams

Comencement - Date/Time TBD

The University at Buffalo academic calendar is set by the Faculty Senate and University President, and dates may change at their discretion