UB Law Alumni Association's Appreciation Luncheon

Pietra Zaffram '01 presenting the Outgoing Presidents Award to Brian Gwitt '98

Pietra Zaffram '01 presenting the  Outgoing Presidents Award to Brian Gwitt '98

The UB Law Alumni Association's (LAA) elected new board members and thanked outgoing presidents of the LAA and GOLD Group at an annual appreciation luncheon June 15 at The Buffalo Club.

Brian Gwitt ‘98, president of the LAA, and Jeffrey Gleason ‘08, president of the GOLD Group, gave year-end reports and received plaques for their “outstanding dedication and contributions” for their service from 2016-2017.

Christen Civiletto, an adjunct faculty member and practitioner who was the recipient of the Kenneth Joyce Excellence in Teaching Award at May’s commencement, addressed the group on the growing importance of Alternative Dispute Resolution. Farina Mendelson ’17, recipient of the GOLD Group Award, was also recognized of her “outstanding leadership in advancing the mission of the law school and enhancing its reputation for excellence in legal education.”

New presidents for 2017-2018 are Pietra Zaffram ’01 for the LAA and Ryan Parisi ’10 for the GOLD Group.

New directors elected to the LAA are:

Kevin Espinosa ’09, M&T
Heather Giambra ’04, Schroder, Joseph & Assoc.
Hon. William Hochul ’84, Delaware North
Andrew Isenberg ’92, NYS Unified Court System
Marybeth Priore Mantharam ’03, Colucci & Gallaher
Richard Marinaccio ’07, Phillips Lytle
Hon. Henry J. Nowak ’93, NYS Supreme Court

New directors elected to the GOLD Group are:

Meg Corcoran ’13, National Fuel Gas Company
Lisa Diaz-Ordaz ’11, Law Office of Destin C. Santacrose
Ari Goldberg ’17, Colucci Gallagher
Kerisha Hawthorne-Greer ’14, ECBA Volunteer Lawyers Project
Calvin Weaver ’17, Rupp Baase Pfalzgraf Cunningham