Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar contains key dates, including the start and end dates of classes, holidays, reading days, and exam days. The Academic Year begins in Summer.

The University at Buffalo academic calendar is set by the Faculty Senate and University President. Dates may change at their discretion.

Current Semester

Summer 2019

Monday, May 20

Classes Begin

Monday, May 27

No Classes – Memorial Day

Monday, July 1

Last Day of Class

Tuesday, July 2

Reading Day

Wednesday, July 3

Final Exams

Upcoming 2019-2020 Semesters

Fall 2019

Monday, August 19 – Friday, August 23

First Year Orientation Begins- Mandatory

Monday, August 26

All Classes Begin

Monday, September 2

No Classes- Labor Day

Monday, September 23

Block 1 Ends

Tuesday, September 24

Block 2 Begins

Monday, October 14 – Friday, October 18

Study and Review Week – No Scheduled Classes* * Students are required to be available during this week for academic and other obligations including meetings with 1L advisors, journals, clinics, practica, and other out-of-class sessions with professors.

Monday, October 28

Block 2 Ends

Tuesday, October 29

Block 3 Begins

Tuesday, November 26

Block 3 Ends – Last Day of Classes

Wednesday, November 27 – Friday, November 29

Thanksgiving Break - No Classes

Saturday, November 30 – Sunday, December 1

Reading Days

Monday, December 2 - Friday, December 13

Final Exams

Saturday, December 14

Winter Recess Begins

Friday, January 10

Fall Grades Due

Bridge 2020

Thursday, January 2

Block 4 Courses Begin - Upper Division Students

Tuesday, January 7

LAWR II Begins - First year students

Monday, January 20

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Classes

Tuesday, January 29

Last Day of Bridge - Block 4 Ends

Wednesday, January 30

Reading Day

Friday, January 31

Bridge Exams - LAWR II continues for first year students

Friday, February 7

Bridge Grades Due

Spring 2020

Monday, February 3

All Spring Classes Begin/Block 5 - Spring LAWR II Schedule Begins

Friday, February 28

Block 5 Ends

Monday, March 2

Block 6 Begins

Monday, March 16 - Friday March 20

Spring Recess- No Classes

Friday, April 3

Block 6 Ends; LAWR II Ends for first year students

Monday, April 6

Block 7 Begins

Friday, May 1

Last Day of Classes - Block 7 Ends

Saturday, May 2 – Sunday, May 3

Reading Days

Monday, May 4 - Friday May 15

Final Exams

Thursday, May 14 – Sunday, May 17

Commencement - Date/Time TBD

Wednesday, June 3

Spring Grades Due

Past Semesters

2018-2019

Summer 2018

Monday, May 21 Classes Begin
Monday, July 2 Last Day of Class
Tuesday, July 3 Reading Day
Thursday, July 5-Friday, July 6 Final Exams

Fall 2018

Monday, August 20

First Year Orientation Begins- Mandatory

Monday, August 27

Block 1/All Classes Begin

Monday, September 3

No Classes- Labor Day

Monday, September 24

Block 1 Ends

Tuesday, September 25

Block 2 Begins

Monday, October 15 – Friday, October 19

Study and Review Week – No Scheduled Classes*

  * 1L students are required to be available during this week to meet with advisors and for midterm review sessions with professors.

Monday, October 29

Block 2 Ends

Tuesday, October 30

Block 3 begins

Wednesday, November 21 - Friday November 23

Thanksgiving Break- No Classes

Friday, November 30

Block 3 Ends-Last Day of Classes

Saturday, December 1 – Monday, December 3

Reading Days

Tuesday, December 4 - Friday, December 14

Final Exams

December 15

Winter Recess Begins

Friday, Jan 11, 2018 Fall Grades Due

Bridge 2019

Wednesday, January 2

Block 4 Courses Begin - Upper Division Students

Tuesday, January 8

LAWR II Begins- First year students

Monday, January 21

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day- No Classes

Tuesday, January 29

Last Day of Bridge Classes/Block 4 ends

Wednesday, January 30

Reading Day

Thursday, January 31– Friday, February 1

Bridge Exams; LAWR II continues for first-year students

Friday, February 8 Bridge Grades Due

Spring 2019

Monday, February 4

All Spring Classes Begin/Block 5 -  Spring LAWR II schedule Begins

Friday, March 1

Block 5 Ends

Monday, March 4

Block 6 Begins

Monday, March 18 - Friday March 22

Spring Recess - No Classes

Friday, April 5

Block 6 Ends - LAWR II Ends for first year students

Monday, April 8

Block 7 Begins

Friday, May 3

Last Day of Classes - Block 7 Ends

Saturday, May 4 – Monday, May 6

Reading Days

Tuesday, May 7 - Friday May 17

Final Exams

Sunday, May 19

Commencement

Wednesday, June 5

Spring Grades Due