Class of 1973.

The Class of 1973 2013 reunion

Class of 1973

It’s your 45th Reunion!

Reconnect with your classmates and friends.

Mark your calendars for Saturday, October 20, 2018, 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. at The Westin Buffalo (250 Delaware Ave., Buffalo, NY 14202). Cost is $90 per person and includes 2-hour open bar, hors d'oeuvres and stations. Discounted hotel rooms are available.

The party isn't complete without you!

Highlights from 1973:

  • By the fall term, a new law school building named for John Lord O’Brian was ready for occupancy. It was the first building constructed on the Amherst campus. The moot courtroom was named in honor of Dean Carlos Alden, and the library was named in honor of Hon. Charles B. Sears.
  • New faculty hires included Professors John Henry Schlegel, Janet Harring Lindgren, L. Thomas McCarty and Barry B. Boyer.
  • School of Law tuition was $1,600.
  • Supreme Court Ruled on Roe v. Wade.
  • Yom Kippur War.
  • Watergate Hearings began.

Want to get involved?

Be a Class Ambassador! Please contact Ilene Fleischmann at 716-645-7347 or

Paul R. Comeau ‘73.

Paul R. Comeau ‘73 

What your class has been up to...

Paul R. Comeau ’73 received the UB Law Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumnus Award for private practice on May 4, 2017, at its 55th annual dinner. Comeau is a partner with Hodgson Russ in Buffalo. He is a member of the School of Law’s Dean’s Advisory Council. Comeau lives in Williamsville, N.Y.

George M. Hezel ’73 was honored at the Buffalo Law Review's annual dinner on April 27, 2017. Hezel is clinical professor emeritus in the School of Law’s Affordable Housing Clinic. He lives in East Aurora, N.Y.

Alan J. Laurita ’73 received the Industry Leader Award at the Northeast Oil & Gas Awards Dinner in Pittsburgh. He is a partner in the environmental practice group of Hodgson Russ in the Buffalo office. Laurita lives in Hamburg, N.Y.  

Hon. Eugene F. Pigott Jr. ’73 will receive the Edwin F. Jaeckle Award, the highest honor the University at Buffalo School of Law and the Law Alumni Association can bestow, at the SUNY Buffalo Law Alumni Luncheon in New York City on Jan. 31, 2013.

In addition, Dean Aviva Abramovsky presented the Dean’s Medal to Pigott at the School of Law’s 129th Commencement exercises on May 20, 2018.  The Dean’s Medal is awarded to an individual who is distinguished by their commitment to justice and the rule of law. Pigott is also a past recipient of the UB Law Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award and an emeritus member of the Dean’s Advisory Council.

Hon. Rose H. Sconiers ’73 received the Trailblazer Award from the Minority Bar Association of Western New York, in Buffalo. Sconiers is an associate justice of the New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, 4th Department, in Buffalo. She is a past president of the UB Law Law Alumni Association, a past recipient of the association's Distinguished Alumna Award and an emeritus member of the Dean's Advisory Council. Sconiers lives in Buffalo.

Honor your class, make a gift


Get connected in Facebook!

Stay in touch with your own Class of 1973 Facebook Group! If you need assistance creating a Facebook group, please contact the School of Law's Communications Ofice at