The Professor Kenneth F. Joyce Excellence in Teaching Fund

The Principles and Strategies for the School of Law, adopted by the faculty in 2008, recognize that “[e]xcellence in teaching goes hand in hand with excellence in scholarship” in creating and maintaining a great law school.

The Professor Kenneth F. Joyce Excellence in Teaching Fund is named in tribute to and in honor of the late SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus Kenneth F. Joyce.  One of the most-renowned and best-loved professors at the University at Buffalo School of Law, he was known for complete mastery of his subject matter, his enthusiasm, and his ability to communicate difficult and complicated legal concepts. Professor Joyce had a lasting impact on the more than 12,000 students he taught during his nearly 40 years at the law school, as well as his significant impact on his law school colleagues, the legal profession and the entire community.

Those who benefited from Professor Joyce’s excellence realize how much great teaching inspires students and enriches legal education. The purpose of the Professor Kenneth F. Joyce Excellence in Teaching Fund is to foster great teaching through making funds available to the Dean of the law school to incentivize and encourage members of the faculty to enhance their teaching skills through a variety of approaches, including attending seminars, workshops or conferences on pedagogical techniques, travel for faculty members to observe and learn from recognized master teachers at other institutions, and course relief to pursue or implement improvements to course methods, techniques or technologies.

To discuss how you can contribute to the Professor Kenneth F. Joyce Excellence in Teaching Fund, please contact Karen R. Kaczmarski, vice dean & senior director of advancement, at or 716-645-6429.

Professor Kenneth F. Joyce.

Professor Emeritus Kenneth F. Joyce

Mail Your Gift

Send your gift to:

University at Buffalo School of Law
Office of Advancement
608 O'Brian Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260

Checks should be made out to the Kenneth Joyce Excellence in Teaching Fund.