The Buffalo Moot Court Board

The Buffalo Moot Court Board is the University at Buffalo School of Law's chief moot court organization. The Buffalo Moot Court Board is dedicated to fostering excellence in appellate advocacy and encouraging the development of practical legal skills such as brief writing and oral argument.

Membership on the Board is offered to students who demonstrate exceptional oral advocacy and brief writing skills through competing in the annual Charles S. Desmond Moot Court Competition. For over three decade, this intramural competition gives participants the opportunity to argue a constitutional law case currently pending before the United States Supreme Court. Accomplished lawyers from Western New York judge competitors in the preliminary rounds, while law school professors and federal and state judges evaluate the semifinalists and finalists. Awards for the Desmond competition are made possible through the Philip Pohl Memorial Fund, created in honor of Philip Pohl, a distinguished law alumnus and former Buffalo attorney.

Buffalo Moot Court Board Leadership

President: Haley Case
Vice-President: Elizabeth Hughes
Treasurer: Matt Mitchell
Public Relations Director: Jenna Wojdan
Desmond Competition Co-Chairs: Alex Blanco and Katharyn (Katie ) Bodie
Weschler Competition Co-Chairs: TBD

Faculty Adviser: Lucinda Finley

Contact Us
For additional questions or comments regarding the competition, please contact:

Buffalo Moot Court Board
University at Buffalo School of Law
404 O'Brian Hall, Buffalo NY 14260