Faculty Directory

A listing of full- and part-time faculty teaching for the academic year.

See also our list of Faculty Assistants and our Staff Directory.

Faculty Library Faculty Adjunct Faculty Trial Tech Instructors

Many of our full-time faculty hold doctorates in areas other than law, bringing the insights of such disciplines as anthropology, sociology and psychology to their research and teaching. Their innovative and thoughtful scholarship reflects this rich and diverse background and enriches the classroom experience beyond measure.

A, BCDEFGHLM, N, OPRSTWFaculty Emeriti

A

Abraham, Heather

Associate Professor; Director of the Civil Rights & Transparency Clinic

School of Law

524 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2073

Email: habraham@buffalo.edu

Abramovsky, Aviva

Dean; Professor

School of Law

319 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: aabramov@buffalo.edu

Ayano, Mekonnen

Associate Professor

School of Law

627 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5134

Email: mfayano@buffalo.edu

B

Barbas, Samantha

Professor; Director, The Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

School of Law

523 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6216

Email: sbarbas@buffalo.edu

Barth, Farina

Lecturer in Law

School of Law

623 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2885

Email: fariname@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Christine P.

Professor; Director of Journals

School of Law

709 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7399

Email: cpb6@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Mark

Professor

School of Law

617 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5959

Email: bartholo@buffalo.edu

Bernstein, Anya

Professor

School of Law

520 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3683

Email: anyabern@buffalo.edu

Binder, Guyora

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Hodgson Russ Faculty Scholar

School of Law

716 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2673

Email: gbinder@buffalo.edu

Black, Joel

Undergraduate Lecturer

School of Law

423 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5675

Email: joelblac@buffalo.edu

Boucai, Michael

Professor

School of Law

413 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1743

Email: mboucai@buffalo.edu

Braverman, Irus

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

School of Law

625 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3030

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Brown, S. Todd

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Law

316 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: stbrown2@buffalo.edu

C

Chiesa, Luis E.

Dr. Teresa A. Miller Professor in Law; Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Director, Buffalo Criminal Law Center

School of Law

715 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3152

Email: lechiesa@buffalo.edu

Connolly, Kim Diana

Professor; Vice Dean for Advocacy and Experiential Education; Director of Clinical Legal Education

School of Law

519 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

D

Dimick, Matthew

Professor

School of Law

618 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7968

Email: mdimick@buffalo.edu

Drew, Helen "Nellie"

Professor of Practice in Sports Law; Director of the UB Center for the Advancement of Sport

School of Law

619 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5591

Email: hdrew@buffalo.edu

F

Fabra-Zamora, Jorge Luis

Associate Professor of Law

School of Law

624 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3292

Email: jorgefab@buffalo.edu

Farinacci-Fernós, Jorge M.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Law

School of Law

723 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2201

Email: jorgefar@buffalo.edu

Finley, Lucinda M.

Frank G. Raichle Professor of Trial and Appellate Advocacy; Director of Moot Courts

School of Law

513 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6152

Email: finleylu@buffalo.edu

Forman, Heidi L.

Teaching Faculty

Faculty Assistant: Cheryl Jones

718 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5339

Email: hlforman@buffalo.edu

French, Rebecca R.

Professor

School of Law

529 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2159

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

G

Gardner, James A.

SUNY Distinguished Professor ; Bridget and Thomas Black Professor

School of Law

514 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3607

Email: jgard@buffalo.edu

Gargano, Bernadette

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Vice Dean for Student Affairs

School of Law

313 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6223

Email: gargano@buffalo.edu

Goldberg, Erin

Staff Attorney, Civil Rights & Transparency Clinic

School of Law

516 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3041

Email: erg6@buffalo.edu

H

Hare, Thomas

Undergraduate Lecturer

School of Law

418 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2326

Email: tehare@buffalo.edu

Harrington, Alexandra

Associate Professor; Director, Criminal Justice Advocacy Clinic; Director, Innocence and Justice Project

School of Law

527 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2108

Email: aharr@buffalo.edu

photo of Rose.

Hewitt, Rosalie (Rose)

Staff Attorney, Civil Rights & Transparency Clinic; Staff Attorney, Clinical Legal Education

School of Law

516 O’Brian Hall, North Campus

Email: rshewitt@buffalo.edu

L

Lazar, Stuart G.

Professor; Co-Director, New York City Program in Finance and Law

School of Law

615 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2749

Email: slazar@buffalo.edu

Lewis, Meredith Kolsky

Professor; Vice Dean for International and Graduate Programs; Director of the Cross-Border Legal Studies Center

School of Law

719 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1631

Email: mlewis5@buffalo.edu

Linden-Retek, Paul

Associate Professor of Law

School of Law

420 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5541

Email: plinden@buffalo.edu

Long, Patrick J.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

720 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2869

Email: pjlong@buffalo.edu

M

McDuff, Angelyn

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

722 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: angelynd@buffalo.edu

Melish, Tara J.

Professor; Director, Buffalo Human Rights Center; Specialty Journals Advisor

School of Law

525 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2257

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Milles, James G.

Professor; Vice Dean for Undergraduate Studies

School of Law

419 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5543

Email: jgmilles@buffalo.edu

Monestier, Tanya

Professor

School of Law

714 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7878

Email: tanyam@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Athena D.

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

528 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2873

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Makau W.

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Margaret W. Wong Professor

School of Law

626 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2311

Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

N

Newell, Pamela

Lecturer in Law

School of Law

614 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2311

Email: pjnewell@buffalo.edu

O

Olin, Judith

Clinical Professor; Director, Family Violence and Women’s Rights Clinic

School of Law

530 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3076

Email: judyolin@buffalo.edu

O'Rourke, Anthony

Joseph W. Belluck and Laura L. Aswad Professor of Civil Justice; Director of the Advocacy Institute

School of Law

710 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3097

Email: aorourke@buffalo.edu

P

Paskey, Stephen

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Director of the LAWR Program

School of Law

621 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5044

Email: sjpaskey@buffalo.edu

R

Rowan, Katrin

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Assistant Dean for International and Graduate Programs

School of Law

613 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3107

Email: katrinro@buffalo.edu

S

Saran, Melinda

Teaching Faculty; Vice Dean for Undergraduate Student Affairs

422 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6603

Email: saran@buffalo.edu

Schlegel, John Henry

University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

526 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2746

Email: schlegel@buffalo.edu

Semet, Amy

Associate Professor

School of Law

522 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8162

Email: amysemet@buffalo.edu

Stark, Robert A.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

620 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2514

Email: rstark2@buffalo.edu

Steilen, Matthew

Professor

School of Law

724 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8966

Email: mjsteile@buffalo.edu

T

Taussig-Rubbo, Mateo

Professor; Director of J.S.D. Program

School of Law

616 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5992

Email: taussig@buffalo.edu

W

Westbrook, David A.

Louis A. Del Cotto Professor; Co-Director, New York City Program in Finance and Law

School of Law

521 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2490

Email: dwestbro@buffalo.edu

Wooten, James A.

Professor; Vice Dean for Research and Faculty Development

School of Law

713 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2318

Email: jwooten@buffalo.edu