Judges on the final bench: U.S. Attorney William J. Hochul '84; Associate Justice of the NYS Court of Appeals Eugene F. Pigott Jr. '73; Associate Justice of the NYS Supreme Court, Appellate Division, 4th Department Erin M. Peradotto '84.

The Desmond Competition

For over three decade, this intramural competition gives participants the opportunity to argue a constitutional law case currently pending before the United States Supreme Court. Accomplished lawyers from Western New York judge competitors in the preliminary rounds, while law school professors and federal and state judges evaluate the semifinalists and finalists.

The Charles S. Desmond Moot Court Competition is the most prestigious appellate advocacy competition at the law school, attracting several local lawyers and judges to volunteer their time as judges. Organized by the School of Law's Buffalo Moot Court Board, the Desmond competition is one of the most popular courtroom competitions the school offers. The daylong intramural competition attracts more than 50 second-and third-year law students annually.