Reaching Others University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty and Research

Faculty Directory

A listing of all tenured, tenure-track, and legal research & writing faculty.

Adjunct Faculty, Teaching Faculty, & Clinical Instructors can be found here. Faculty Assistants can be found here.

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, K, L, M, O, P, R, S, T, W, Emeriti FacultyAffiliate Faculty

A

Avery, Dianne

Professor

Law School

421 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2074

Email: lawavery@buffalo.edu

B

Barbas, Samantha

Associate Professor

Law School

523 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6216

Email: sbarbas@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Christine P.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

709 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7399

Email: cpb6@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Mark

Professor

Law School

617 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5959

Email: bartholo@buffalo.edu

Bernstein, Anya

Associate Professor

Law School

624 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3683

Email: anyabern@buffalo.edu

Binder, Guyora

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Vice Dean for Research and Faculty Development

Law School

716 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2673

Email: gbinder@buffalo.edu

Boucai, Michael

Associate Professor

Law School

413 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1743

Email: mboucai@buffalo.edu

Braverman, Irus

Professor

Law School

625 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3030

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Breen, Lauren E.

Clinical Professor

Law School

516 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2480

Email: lbreen@buffalo.edu

Brown, S. Todd

Associate Professor

Law School

712 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6213

Email: stbrown2@buffalo.edu

C

Chiesa, Luis E.

Professor; Director of the Buffalo Criminal Law Center; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs

Law School

316 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3152

Email: lechiesa@buffalo.edu

Connolly, Kim Diana

Professor; Director of Clinical Legal Education; Vice Dean for Legal Skills

Law School

519 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

D

Dimick, Matthew

Associate Professor

Law School

618 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7968

Email: mdimick@buffalo.edu

E

Engel, David M.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

Law School

415 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2514

Email: dmengel@buffalo.edu

Ewing, Charles P.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

Law School

723 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2770

Email: cewing@buffalo.edu

F

Finley, Lucinda M.

Frank G. Raichle Professor of Trial and Appellate Advocacy; Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Law School

563 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3594

Email: finleylu@buffalo.edu

French, Rebecca R.

Professor

Law School

529 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2159

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

G

Gardner, James A.

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Bridget and Thomas Black Professor

Law School

514 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3607

Email: jgard@buffalo.edu

Gargano, Bernadette

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

424 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2381

Email: gargano@buffalo.edu

H

Halberstam, Michael

Associate Professor

Law School

612 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5130

Email: mhalbers@buffalo.edu

Halpern, Philip

Professor; Director of the New York City Program in International Finance and Law

Law School

623 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3039

Email: phalpern@buffalo.edu

Haynes, Nan L.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

721 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5539

Email: nlhaynes@buffalo.edu

Hezel, George M.

Clinical Professor

Law School

517 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2762

Email: hezel@buffalo.edu

K

Kannar, George

Professor; Director of Moot Courts

Law School

708 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2400

Email: kannar@buffalo.edu

Konefsky, Alfred S.

University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor

Law School

423 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2392

Email: konefsky@buffalo.edu

L

Lazar, Stuart G.

Professor

Law School

615 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2749

Email: slazar@buffalo.edu

Lewis, Meredith Kolsky

Associate Professor

Law School

719 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1631

Email: mlewis5@buffalo.edu

Long, Patrick J.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

720 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2869

Email: pjlong@buffalo.edu

M

Malhotra, Anjana

Associate Professor

Law School

518 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3696

Email: anjanama@buffalo.edu

Mangold, Susan V.

Professor

Law School

614 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2428

Email: svm@buffalo.edu

Marcus, Isabel

Professor

Law School

527 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2108

Email: imarcus@buffalo.edu

Mather, Lynn

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

Law School

418 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5541

Email: lmather@buffalo.edu

McCluskey, Martha T.

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

Law School

714 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2326

Email: mcclusk@buffalo.edu

Meidinger, Errol E.

Margaret W. Wong Professor; Director, Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

Law School

520 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6692

Email: eemeid@buffalo.edu

Melish, Tara J.

Associate Professor; Director, Buffalo Human Rights Center

Law School

525 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2257

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Miller, Teresa A.

Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion; Professor

Law School

515 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2391

Email: tmiller@buffalo.edu

Milles, James G.

Professor

Law School

419 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5543

Email: jgmilles@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Athena D.

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

528 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2873

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Makau W.

Dean; SUNY Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

319A O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

O

Olsen, R. Nils Jr.

Professor

Law School

422 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3193

Email: nolsen@buffalo.edu

Oreskovic, Johanna

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

627 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2474

Email: joresk@buffalo.edu

O'Rourke, Anthony

Associate Professor

Law School

710 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3097

Email: aorourke@buffalo.edu

Owley, Jessica

Associate Professor

Law School

722 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: jol@buffalo.edu

P

Paskey, Stephen

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

621 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5044

Email: sjpaskey@buffalo.edu

Phillips, Stephanie L.

Professor

Law School

420 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2201

Email: slp@buffalo.edu

R

Reilly, Laura B.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

425 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3046

Email: lreilly@buffalo.edu

Reis, Robert I.

Professor

Law School

414 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2354

Email: reis@buffalo.edu

S

Schlegel, John Henry

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

526 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2746

Email: schlegel@buffalo.edu

Steilen, Matthew

Associate Professor

Law School

724 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7918

Email: mjsteile@buffalo.edu

Steinfeld, Robert J.

Joseph W. Belluck and Laura L. Aswad Professor of Civil Justice

Law School

725 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2094

Email: steinfel@buffalo.edu

Su, Rick

Professor

Law School

530 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5134

Email: ricksu@buffalo.edu

Szczygiel, Anthony H.

Professor; Director of the William and Mary Foster Elder Law Clinic

Law School

426 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3027

Email: szczygie@buffalo.edu

T

Taussig-Rubbo, Mateo

Professor

Law School

616 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5992

Email: taussig@buffalo.edu

Tomkins, Suzanne E.

Clinical Professor

Law School

613 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2103

Email: tomkins@buffalo.edu

W

Wallace, Monica

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

427 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2399

Email: monicaw@buffalo.edu

Westbrook, David A.

Louis A. Del Cotto Professor; Director for Global Strategic Initiatives;

Law School

521 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2490

Email: dwestbro@buffalo.edu

Wooten, James A.

Professor

Law School

713 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2318

Email: jwooten@buffalo.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Affiliate Faculty

Jackson, Bruce

SUNY Distinguished Professor; James Agee Professor of American Culture

English

610 Clemens Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-0714

Email: bjackson@buffalo.edu