Faculty and Research

Faculty Directory

A listing of full- and part-time faculty teaching at the School of Law.

Faculty Assistants can be found here. A Staff Directory can be found here.

Many of our full-time faculty hold doctorates in areas other than law, bringing the insights of such disciplines as anthropology, sociology and psychology to their research and teaching. Their innovative and thoughtful scholarship reflects this rich and diverse background and enriches the classroom experience beyond measure.

--------

A, BCDEFGHLMOPRSTWFaculty Emeriti

A

Adelman, Elizabeth

Teaching Faculty; Director & Vice Dean for Legal Information Services

School of Law

205 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2089

Email: eadelman@buffalo.edu

Abramovsky, Aviva

Dean

School of Law

319 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: aabramov@buffalo.edu

B

Barbas, Samantha

Professor

School of Law

523 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6216

Email: sbarbas@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Christine P.

Associate Professor; Director of Journals

School of Law

709 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7399

Email: cpb6@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Mark

Professor

School of Law

617 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5959

Email: bartholo@buffalo.edu

Bernstein, Anya

Professor

School of Law

624 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3683

Email: anyabern@buffalo.edu

Binder, Guyora

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Hodgson Russ Faculty Scholar; Vice Dean for Research and Faculty Development

School of Law

716 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2673

Email: gbinder@buffalo.edu

Boucai, Michael

Associate Professor

School of Law

413 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1743

Email: mboucai@buffalo.edu

Braverman, Irus

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty

School of Law

625 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3030

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Brown, S. Todd

Professor; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Law

316 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: stbrown2@buffalo.edu

C

Chiesa, Luis E.

Professor; Director of the Criminal Law LL.M.; Director of the Buffalo Criminal Law Center

School of Law

715 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3152

Email: lechiesa@buffalo.edu

Connolly, Kim Diana

Professor; Director of Clinical Legal Education; Vice Dean for Advocacy and Experiential Education

School of Law

519 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

D

Dimick, Matthew

Associate Professor

School of Law

618 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7968

Email: mdimick@buffalo.edu

E

Engel, David M.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

School of Law

422 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2514

Email: dmengel@buffalo.edu

Ewing, Charles P.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

School of Law

723 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2770

Email: cewing@buffalo.edu

F

Finley, Lucinda M.

Frank G. Raichle Professor of Trial and Appellate Advocacy

School of Law

563 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3594

Email: finleylu@buffalo.edu

Forman, Heidi L.

Teaching Faculty

Faculty Assistant: Cheryl Jones

718 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5339

Email: hlforman@buffalo.edu

French, Rebecca R.

Professor

School of Law

529 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2159

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

G

Gardner, James A.

Bridget and Thomas Black SUNY Distinguished Professor

School of Law

514 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3607

Email: jgard@buffalo.edu

Gargano, Bernadette

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Vice Dean for Student Affairs

School of Law

313 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6223

Email: gargano@buffalo.edu

Gelernter, Lise

Teaching Faculty

School of Law

522 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5540

Email: gelernt@buffalo.edu

H

Hallett, Nicole

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Community Justice Clinic

School of Law

424 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3193

Email: nicole@buffalo.edu

Halpern, Philip

Professor; Director of the New York City Program in International Finance and Law

School of Law

623 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3039

Email: phalpern@buffalo.edu

L

Lazar, Stuart G.

Professor

School of Law

615 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2749

Email: slazar@buffalo.edu

Lewis, Meredith Kolsky

Professor; Director of the Cross-Border Legal Studies Center; Vice Dean for International and Graduate Programs

School of Law

719 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1631

Email: mlewis5@buffalo.edu

Long, Patrick J.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Director of Moot Courts

School of Law

720 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2869

Email: pjlong@buffalo.edu

M

Malhotra, Anjana

Associate Professor

School of Law

518 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3696

Email: anjanama@buffalo.edu

Manes, Jonathan

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Civil Liberties and Transparency Clinic

School of Law

613 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6222

Email: jmmanes@buffalo.edu

Marcus, Isabel

Professor

School of Law

527 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2108

Email: imarcus@buffalo.edu

McCluskey, Martha T.

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

School of Law

714 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2326

Email: mcclusk@buffalo.edu

Meidinger, Errol E.

Margaret W. Wong Professor; Director, Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

School of Law

520 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6692

Email: eemeid@buffalo.edu

Melish, Tara J.

Professor; Director, Buffalo Human Rights Center

School of Law

525 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2257

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Miller, Teresa A.

Professor; Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion

School of Law

515 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2391

Email: tmiller@buffalo.edu

Milles, James G.

Professor

School of Law

419 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5543

Email: jgmilles@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Athena D.

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

528 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2873

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Makau W.

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

626 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2311

Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

O

Olin, Judith

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Family Violence and Women’s Rights Clinic

School of Law

415 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3076

Email: judyolin@buffalo.edu

Oreskovic, Johanna

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Assistant Dean for International and Graduate Student Support

School of Law

627 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2474

Email: joresk@buffalo.edu

O'Rourke, Anthony

Associate Professor

School of Law

710 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3097

Email: aorourke@buffalo.edu

Owley, Jessica

Professor

School of Law

722 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: jol@buffalo.edu

P

Paskey, Stephen

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

621 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5044

Email: sjpaskey@buffalo.edu

Pelfrey Duryea, Danielle

Teaching Faculty; Assistant Dean for Interprofessional Education and Health Law Initiatives

516 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3041

Email: dnpelfre@buffalo.edu

Phillips, Stephanie L.

Professor

School of Law

420 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2201

Email: slp@buffalo.edu

R

Reilly, Laura B.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

425 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3046

Email: lreilly@buffalo.edu

Rowan, Katrin

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

416 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3107

Email: katrinro@buffalo.edu

S

Saran, Melinda

Teaching Faculty; Vice Dean for Social Justice Initiatives

614 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6603

Email: saran@buffalo.edu

Schlegel, John Henry

University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

School of Law

526 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2746

Email: schlegel@buffalo.edu

Steilen, Matthew

Associate Professor

School of Law

724 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8966

Email: mjsteile@buffalo.edu

Steinfeld, Robert J.

Joseph W. Belluck and Laura L. Aswad Professor of Civil Justice

School of Law

725 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2094

Email: steinfel@buffalo.edu

Su, Rick

Professor

School of Law

530 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5134

Email: ricksu@buffalo.edu

Swann, Cynthia

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

School of Law

524 O’Brian Hall, North Campus

Email: cgswann@buffalo.edu

T

Taussig-Rubbo, Mateo

Professor

School of Law

616 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5992

Email: taussig@buffalo.edu

W

Westbrook, David A.

Louis A. Del Cotto Professor

School of Law

521 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2490

Email: dwestbro@buffalo.edu

Wooten, James A.

Professor

School of Law

713 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2318

Email: jwooten@buffalo.edu

Faculty Emeriti