University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Faculty and Research

Faculty Directory

A listing of all tenured, tenure-track, and legal research & writing faculty.

Adjunct Faculty, Teaching Faculty, & Clinical Instructors can be found here. Faculty Assistants can be found here.

 B, C, D, E, F, G, H, K, L, M, O, P, R, S, T, W, Faculty EmeritiAffiliate Faculty

B

Barbas, Samantha

Professor

Law School

523 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6216

Email: sbarbas@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Christine P.

Associate Professor; Director of Journals

Law School

709 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7399

Email: cpb6@buffalo.edu

Bartholomew, Mark

Professor

Law School

617 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5959

Email: bartholo@buffalo.edu

Bernstein, Anya

Associate Professor

Law School

624 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3683

Email: anyabern@buffalo.edu

Binder, Guyora

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Hodgson Russ Faculty Scholar; Vice Dean for Research and Faculty Development

Law School

716 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2673

Email: gbinder@buffalo.edu

Boucai, Michael

Associate Professor

Law School

413 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1743

Email: mboucai@buffalo.edu

Braverman, Irus

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

Law School

625 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3030

Email: irusb@buffalo.edu

Breen, Lauren E.

Clinical Professor; Director of the New York City Program in International Finance and Law

Law School

711 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2480

Email: lbreen@buffalo.edu

Brown, S. Todd

Professor; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs

Law School

316 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: stbrown2@buffalo.edu

C

Chiesa, Luis E.

Professor; Director of the Criminal Law LL.M.; Director of the Buffalo Criminal Law Center

Law School

715 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3152

Email: lechiesa@buffalo.edu

Connolly, Kim Diana

Professor; Director of Clinical Legal Education; Vice Dean for Experiential and Skills Education

Law School

519 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2092

Email: kimconno@buffalo.edu

D

Dimick, Matthew

Associate Professor

Law School

618 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-7968

Email: mdimick@buffalo.edu

E

Engel, David M.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

Law School

415 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2514

Email: dmengel@buffalo.edu

Ewing, Charles P.

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor; Director of the Advocacy Institute

Law School

723 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2770

Email: cewing@buffalo.edu

F

Finley, Lucinda M.

Frank G. Raichle Professor of Trial and Appellate Advocacy

Law School

563 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3594

Email: finleylu@buffalo.edu

French, Rebecca R.

Professor

Law School

529 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2159

Email: rrfrench@buffalo.edu

G

Gardner, James A.

Interim Dean; SUNY Distinguished Professor; Bridget and Thomas Black Professor

Law School

319 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2052

Email: jgard@buffalo.edu

Gargano, Bernadette

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Vice Dean for Student Affairs

Law School

313 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6223

Email: gargano@buffalo.edu

H

Hallett, Nicole

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Community Justice Clinic

Law School

424 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3193

Email: nicole@buffalo.edu

Halpern, Philip

Professor;

Law School

623 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3039

Email: phalpern@buffalo.edu

Haynes, Nan L.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

721 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5539

Email: nlhaynes@buffalo.edu

K

Kannar, George

Professor;

Law School

708 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2400

Email: kannar@buffalo.edu

L

Lazar, Stuart G.

Professor

Law School

615 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2749

Email: slazar@buffalo.edu

Lewis, Meredith Kolsky

Professor; Vice Dean for International and Graduate Programs; Director of the Cross-Border Legal Studies Center

Law School

719 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-1631

Email: mlewis5@buffalo.edu

Long, Patrick J.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Director of Moot Courts

Law School

720 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2869

Email: pjlong@buffalo.edu

M

Malhotra, Anjana

Associate Professor

Law School

518 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3696

Email: anjanama@buffalo.edu

Manes, Jonathan

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Civil Liberties and Transparency Clinic

Law School

613 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6222

Email: jmmanes@buffalo.edu

Marcus, Isabel

Professor

Law School

527 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2108

Email: imarcus@buffalo.edu

McCluskey, Martha T.

Professor; William J. Magavern Faculty Scholar

Law School

714 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2326

Email: mcclusk@buffalo.edu

Meidinger, Errol E.

Margaret W. Wong Professor; Director, Baldy Center for Law and Social Policy

Law School

520 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-6692

Email: eemeid@buffalo.edu

Melish, Tara J.

Professor; Director, Buffalo Human Rights Center

Law School

525 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2257

Email: tmelish@buffalo.edu

Miller, Teresa A.

Professor; Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion

Law School

515 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2391

Email: tmiller@buffalo.edu

Milles, James G.

Professor

Law School

419 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5543

Email: jgmilles@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Athena D.

Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

528 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2873

Email: admutua@buffalo.edu

Mutua, Makau W.

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

626 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2311

Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

O

Olin, Judith

Assistant Clinical Professor; Director, Family Violence and Women’s Rights Clinic

Law School

415 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3076

Email: judyolin@buffalo.edu

Oreskovic, Johanna

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research; Assistant Dean for International and Graduate Student Support

Law School

627 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2474

Email: joresk@buffalo.edu

O'Rourke, Anthony

Associate Professor

Law School

710 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3097

Email: aorourke@buffalo.edu

Owley, Jessica

Professor

Law School

722 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8182

Email: jol@buffalo.edu

P

Paskey, Stephen

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

621 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5044

Email: sjpaskey@buffalo.edu

Pelfrey Duryea, Danielle

Visiting Clinical Assistant; Director, Health Justice Law & Policy Clinic Faculty

Law School

516 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3041

Email: dnpelfre@buffalo.edu

Phillips, Stephanie L.

Professor

Law School

420 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2201

Email: slp@buffalo.edu

R

Reilly, Laura B.

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

425 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-3046

Email: lreilly@buffalo.edu

S

Schlegel, John Henry

University at Buffalo Distinguished Professor; Floyd H. and Hilda L. Hurst Faculty Scholar

Law School

526 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2746

Email: schlegel@buffalo.edu

Steilen, Matthew

Associate Professor

Law School

724 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-8966

Email: mjsteile@buffalo.edu

Steinfeld, Robert J.

Joseph W. Belluck and Laura L. Aswad Professor of Civil Justice

Law School

725 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2094

Email: steinfel@buffalo.edu

Su, Rick

Professor

Law School

530 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5134

Email: ricksu@buffalo.edu

T

Taussig-Rubbo, Mateo

Professor

Law School

616 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-5992

Email: taussig@buffalo.edu

W

Wallace, Monica

Lecturer in Law, Legal Analysis, Writing and Research

Law School

427 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2399

Email: monicaw@buffalo.edu

Westbrook, David A.

Louis A. Del Cotto Professor

Law School

521 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2490

Email: dwestbro@buffalo.edu

Wooten, James A.

Professor

Law School

713 O'Brian Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-2318

Email: jwooten@buffalo.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Affiliate Faculty

Jackson, Bruce

SUNY Distinguished Professor; James Agee Professor of American Culture

English

610 Clemens Hall, North Campus

Phone: 716-645-0714

Email: bjackson@buffalo.edu