Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar contains key dates, including the start and end dates of classes, holidays, reading days, and exam days. The Academic Year begins in Summer.

The University at Buffalo academic calendar is set by the Faculty Senate and University President. Dates may change at their discretion.

Upcoming Semesters

Fall 2020

Monday, August 24

First Year Orientation Begins- Mandatory

Tuesday, August 25

1L LAWR Classes Begin

Wednesday, September 2

All Upper Level and 1L Doctrinal Classes Begin
Monday, September 7 Labor Day - Classes will be held
Friday, September 25

Block 1 Ends

Friday, October 23

Block 2 Ends

Monday, October 26

Block 3 begins

Tuesday, November 24 Block 3 Ends – Last Day of Classes

Wednesday, November 25 – Friday, November 27

Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, November 28 – Sunday, December 6

Reading Days/Review Days *

Monday, December 7 - Friday, December 18

Final Exams – All exams held remote

Saturday, December 19

Winter Recess Begins

Friday, January 8

Fall Grades Due

* Professors may schedule individual, class, and group review sessions online.

Bridge 2021

Monday, January 4

Block 4 Courses Begin - Upper Division Students

Tuesday, January 12

LAWR II Begins- First year students

Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day- No Classes

Wednesday, January 27

Last Day of Bridge/Block 4 ends

Thursday, January 28

Reading Day

Friday, January 29

Bridge Exams; LAWR II continues for first-year students

Friday, February 5

Bridge Grades Due

Spring 2021

Monday, February 1

All Spring Classes Begin/Block 5; Spring LAWR II schedule begins

Friday, February 26

Block 5 ends

Monday, March 1

Block 6 begins

Monday, March 15 - Friday March 19

Spring Recess- No Classes

Friday, April 2

Block 6 ends; LAWR II ends for First year students

Monday, April 5

Block 7 begins

Friday, April 30

Last Day of Classes – Block 7 ends

Saturday, May 1 – Sunday, May 2

Reading Days

Monday, May 3 - Friday May 14

Final Exams

Thursday, May 13 – Sunday, May 16

Commencement – Date/Time TBD

Wednesday, June 2

Spring Grades Due

Past Semesters

Past Academic Calendars