Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar contains key dates, including the start and end dates of classes, holidays, reading days, and exam days. The Academic Year begins in Summer.

Undergraduate students should follow UB's academic calendar.

The University at Buffalo academic calendar is set by the Faculty Senate and University President. Dates may change at their discretion.

Current Semesters

Bridge 2024

Wednesday, January 3

Block 4 Courses Begin - Upper Division Students

Tuesday, January 16

LAWR II Begins - First year students

Monday, January 15

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Classes

Tuesday, January 30

Last Day of Bridge/Block 4 ends

Wednesday, January 31

Reading Day

Thursday, February 1 - Friday, February 2

Bridge Exams; LAWR II continues for first-year students

Friday, February 9

Bridge Grades Due

Upcoming Semesters

Spring 2024

Monday, February 5

All Spring Classes Begin/Block 5; Spring LAWR II schedule begins

Monday, February 12
Last day for drop/add

Friday, March 1

Block 5 ends

Monday, March 4

Block 6 begins

Monday, March 18 - Friday March 22

Spring Recess- No Classes

Friday, April 5

Block 6 ends

Monday, April 8

Block 7 begins

Friday, April 12

LAWR II ends for First year students

Friday, May 3

Last Day of Classes – Block 7 ends

Saturday, May 4 – May 5

Reading Days

Monday, May 6 - Friday May 17

Final Exams

Sunday, May 19 - 1:00PM

Commencement  

Wednesday, June 5

Spring Grades Due

Summer 2024

Monday, May 20

Monday, May 27

Wednesday, June 19

Monday, July 1

Tuesday, July 2

Wednesday, July 3

Classes begin

No Classes - Memorial Day

No Classes - Juneteenth

Last Day of Class

Reading Day

Final Exams

Fall 2024

Monday, August 19 - Friday, August 23

First Year Orienation Begins - Mandatory

Monday, August 26

All Upper Level and 1L Doctrinal Classes Begin

Monday, September 2

No Classes- Labor Day

Monday, September 23

Block 1 Ends

Tuesday, September 24

Block 2 Begins

Monday, October 14 - Friday, October 18

Make-up, Study and Review Week – No Regularly Scheduled Classes

*

Monday, October 28

Block 2 Ends

Tuesday, October 29

Block 3 Begins

Tuesday, November 26

 

Block 3 Ends - Last Day of Classes

Wednesday, November 27 - Friday, November 29

Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, November 30 - Sunday, December 1

Reading Days

Monday, December 2 - Friday, December 13

Final Exams

Saturday, December 14 Winter Recess Begins

Friday, January 10

Fall Grades Due

* Students are required to be available during this week for academic and other obligations including, but not limited to, journals, clinics, practica, meetings with advisors, mandatory LAWR sessions, and other out-of-class sessions with professors.

Professors may schedule make-up classes on Tuesday, October 17th.

Spring 2025

Monday, February 3

All Spring Classes Begin/Block 5; Spring LAWR II schedule begins

Friday, February 28

Block 5 ends

Monday, March 2

Block 6 begins

Monday, March 16 - Friday March 20

Spring Recess- No Classes

Friday, April 3

Block 6 ends; LAWR II ends for First Year Students

Monday, April 6

Block 7 begins

Friday, May 1

Last Day of Classes – Block 7 ends

Saturday, May 2 – Sunday, May 3

Reading Days

Monday, May 4 - Friday May 15

Final Exams

Friday, May 15 – Sunday, May 17

Commencement – Date/Time TBD

Wednesday, June 3

Spring Grades Due

Past Semesters

Fall 2023

Tuesday, August 22

LAWR Classes Begin (1L and LLM)

Monday, August 28

All Upper Level and 1L Doctrinal Classes Begin

Monday, September 4

No Classes- Labor Day

Monday, September 25

Block 1 Ends

Tuesday, September 26

Block 2 Begins

Monday, October 9

No Classes – Indigenous Peoples’ Day

Tuesday, October 17 – Friday, October 20

Make-up, Study and Review Week – No Regularly Scheduled Classes1

Monday, October 30

Block 2 Ends

Tuesday, October 31

Block 3 begins

Wednesday, November 22 – Friday, November 24

Thanksgiving Break

Friday, December 1

Block 3 Ends – Last Day of Classes

Saturday, December 2 – Sunday, December 3

Reading Days

Monday, December 4 - Friday, December 15

Final Exams

Saturday, December 16

Winter Recess Begins

Friday, January 12

Fall Grades Due

* Students are required to be available during this week for academic and other obligations including, but not limited to, journals, clinics, practica, meetings with advisors, mandatory LAWR sessions, and other out-of-class sessions with professors.

Professors may schedule make-up classes on Tuesday, October 17th.

Summer 2023

Monday, May 22

Monday, May 29

Monday, June 19

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 4

Wednesday, July 5

Classes begin

No Classes - Memorial Day

No Classes - Juneteenth

Last Day of Class

Reading Day

Final Exams

Past Academic Calendars