Donell Lamar Gibson Jr., recipient of the 2017 GOLD Award.

Dean Aviva Abravomsky with Donell Lamar Gibson Jr., recipient of the 2017 GOLD Award

GOLD Award

Every year at Commencement, the Law Alumni Association's GOLD Group presents the GOLD Award to a graduating law student who has demonstrated leadership skills in enhancing the mission and reputation of the School of Law.

Qualifications: The nominee must be a graduating student from the University at Buffalo School of Law.  An application must be completed by the person nominating the student or by the student.  The award is not based on grades or any activities completed as a part of the student’s coursework.

Nomination Process: Nominees will be taken from law students, administrators, faculty, Law Alumni Association members, and GOLD Group members. A student can nominate him/herself for the award. Each nominator/nominee will complete an application wherein the nominee's activities will be listed and a short essay submitted on why the person should be selected for this award.

Selection Committee: The award recipient will be selected by an Ad Hoc Committee consisting of: a minimum of two (2) members of the GOLD Group Board of Directors; Vice Dean for Student Affairs (Bernadette Gargano); Vice Dean for Social Justice Initiatives (Melinda Saran); Vice Dean for Career Services (Lisa Patterson); the Executive Director of the Law Alumni Association (Ilene Fleischmann); and the current GOLD Group president.

Award: The recipient's name will be added to a plaque displayed in the Charles B. Sears Law Library. The recipient will also receive a commemorative desk clock or $100. The award will be acknowledged at Commencement.

Nomination Form

To nominate a student or to apply, please submit the following online application.

Applicants can apply online, the application is given below. The deadline for applications is March 15, 2019.

Questions can be directed to the Law Alumni Office (312 O’Brian, Buffalo, NY 14260), 716-645-5940 or

We are no longer accepting applications for this award.